The Queen's College, University of Oxford, UK, March 19-20, 2013


There are three atmospheric windows in the 1.0-1.6 THz frequency range, and these offer the potential of performing astronomical observations with ALMA at supra-terahertz frequencies. The realisation of ultra-high-resolution interferometry in the supra-terahertz windows is an exciting prospect, and would yield a unique, high profile return to the ALMA community. This would be prohibitively expensive to do in space, it cannot current be achieved using any other ground-based facility, and it would exploit ALMA’s capability to the limit. The challenges associated with operating at frequencies above 1 THz are great, but the scientific rewards are likely to be considerable and might well justify a long-term investment in this waveband. In order to assess the scientific potential of Band 11, and to perform preliminary quantitative studies of likely site characteristics and instrument performance, the European Southern Observatory has initiated a study that will result in a report on the scientific case for supra-terahertz operation. In the context of this study we are holding an Open Workshop at the University of Oxford in March 2013. The aims of the Workshop are:

Topics include, but not exclusively, continuum emission from cold molecular clouds, far-infrared spectroscopy of galactic and extragalactic ISM cooling lines such as [CII],[NII],[OI], and [CI] and CO, light-hydride observations of prestellar cores, and solar-planet and extra-solar-planet observations. Although the Workshop will focus the overall science case for Band 11, the challenges will be put into context by having a small number of presentations on the site, likely interferometer performance, and technical difficulties. The discussion at the Workshop will play a vital role in formulating the report to ESO, which will be influential in determining the future of Band 11.

Scientific Organizing Committee
Stafford Withington (Cambridge, chair)
Brian Ellison (STFC-RAL)
John Richer (Cambridge)
Dimitra Rigopoulou (Oxford/STFC-RAL)
Ghassan Yassin (Oxford)
Local Organizing Committee

Vanessa Ferraro Wood (Oxford)
Dimitra Rigopoulou (Oxford/STFC-RAL)
Ghassan Yassin (Oxford)
Georgios Magdis (Oxford)