93rd LHCb Week 93rd LHCb Week 93rd LHCb Week

16 - 20 September 2019, Oxford, UK

93rd LHCb Week

93rd LHCb Week

Oxford, 16 - 20 September 2019

Normal registration is open 20 March - 20 July

Final deadline for late registration, 20 August

The Oxford group looks forward to hosting the 2019 external collaboration meeting, where we hope to provide a diverse and stimulating environment for our discussions.

From Monday till Thursday, the parallel and plenary sessions will take place in the Andrew Wiles Building, a state of the art conference facility of the Oxford Mathematical Institute. For the concluding summaries on Friday morning, we have arranged use of the famous debating chamber of the Oxford Union Library.

The social programme commences with a cream tea in the Andrew Wiles Building before the opening plenary session and a drinks reception after. The reception will be held in the Sheldonian Theatre, which was designed by Sir Christopher Wren in 1669 and is the most prestigious arena for University ceremonies.

The collaboration banquet will occur on Wednesday evening in the 500 year old, Christ Church Hall. And to contrast the history, and to represent Oxford's music scene, we have a private gig with a local folk band on Thursday evening in the Jericho Tavern, renown early-career cradle of Radiohead, amongst others.

The extended social programme offers an excursion to Blenheim Palace, an expansive country estate just 30 minute north of Oxford on Wednesday afternoon. For those arriving early, our walking tour of Christ Church and central Oxford highlights on Monday morning will be a good introduction. Tuesday evening has a hike (~2hr) along the bank of the Thames and across Port Meadow, finishing with a good pub meal. And for anyone not attending the CB, a lazy afternoon punting on the Cherwell river is suggested.

Local organising committee:
  • Sue Geddes
  • Neville Harnew
  • Donal Hill
  • Malcolm John
  • Sneha Malde
  • Guy Wilkinson
Scientific Assistants:
  • Mikkel Bjørn
  • Thomas Hancock
  • Colm Murphy
  • Hannah Pullen
  • Luke Scantlebury-Smead

Download a poster in PDF format

Sponsored by the Sub-department of Particle Physics, University of Oxford