The Department of Physics and the Mathematical Institute jointly offer a one-year MMathPhys course. Those studying for an MPhys, MMath or MPhysPhil at the University of Oxford can apply to transfer to the MMathPhys for the fourth year while students from outside Oxford can apply directly to join the one-year course.